“My professors were great examples of what an educator should be. They gave me their best, and in return I tried to do the same.”

Nikeisha Fortenberry
CJC student

People

Faculty I Adjunct faculty I Staff I Graduate Assistants

Faculty

Andrew Fox

Andrew M. Fox
Assistant Professor
Phone: 816-235-5955
foxan@umkc.edu

Ph.D., Arizona State University
Areas of Interest: Gangs, Social Network Analysis; Communities; Mental Health and Crime

Jessica Hodge

Jessica Hodge
Assistant Professor
Phone: 816-235-5164
hodgejp@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Delaware
Areas of Interest: Hate and Bias Crime; Juvenile Delinquency; Juvenile Justice; Gender Issues in Criminal Justice

Alex Holsinger

Alexander Holsinger
Professor and Director of the Graduate Program
Phone: 816-235-5288
holsingera@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Areas of Interest: Community Corrections; Juvenile Delinquency;
Criminological Theory and Statistics

Kristi Holsinger

Kristi Holsinger
Professor and Director of the Undergraduate Program
Phone: 816-235-1471
holsingerk@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Areas of Interest: Juvenile Delinquency; Women, Crime and Criminal Justice; Corrections; Criminological Theory

Toya Like

Toya Like-Haislip
Associate Professor
Phone: 816-235-5706
liket@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Missouri-St. Louis
Areas of Interest: Victimization among Minority and Disadvantaged Groups; City, Neighborhood and Individual Level Risks for Victimization

Ken Novak

Ken Novak
Professor and Chair
Phone: 816-235-1599
novakk@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Areas of Interest: Policing; Criminal Procedure; Criminal Justice Organizations

Jennifer Owens

Jennifer Gatewood Owens
Assistant Professor
Phone: 816-235-1602
owensjen@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of Missouri-St. Louis
Areas of Interest: Victimization, Gender, Substance use, Quantitative and Qualitative Methods

Lori Sexton

Lori Sexton
Assistant Professor
Phone: 816-235-5775
sextonl@umkc.edu

Ph.D., University of California-Irvine

Areas of Interest: Corrections; Punishment; Law and Society; Research Methods

 

Emeriti faculty

Cathleen Burnett

Cathleen Burnett
Professor Emerita
burnettc@umkc.edu

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Areas of Interest: Death Penalty; Women and Law; Restorative Justice

Wayne Lucas

Wayne Lucas
Olson Professor and Professor Emeritus
Phone: 816-235-1598
lucasw@umkc.edu

Ph.D., Iowa State University
Areas of Interest: Substance Abuse; Administration of Justice

Adjunct faculty

Lindsey Arbuthnot Clancey

Lindsey Arbuthnot Clancey
M.S., Criminal Justice and Criminology
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Phone: (217) 725-1953
lma8b9@mail.umkc.edu

Photo of Carla Oppenheimer

Carla Oppenheimer
J.D.
University of Missouri - Kansas City
Phone: 816-235-6094
oppenheimerc@umkc.edu

Photo of Rita D. Pearce

Rita D. Pearce
M.S., Administration of Justice
University of Missouri-Kansas City
Phone: 816-591-0615
pearceri@umkc.edu

 

Lindsey Weaver
M.A., University of Nottingham
Phone: 816-372-6151
Weaver.lindsey@gmail.com

   

Staff

Tricia Falk

Patricia Falk
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 816-235-2751
falkp@umkc.edu

Graduate Assistants

 

Brandi Kidwell
Room 209
Phone: 816-235-1743
E-mail: blkcnc@mail.umkc.edu

Matthew Krueger

Matthew Krueger
Room 104
Phone: 816-235-1743
E-mail: mrkxv7@mail.umkc.edu 

Haley Mickelson

Haley Mickelson
Room 202
Phone: 816-235-5757
E-mail: hmm4x3@mail.umkc.edu

 

Madeline Warren
Room 208
Phone: 816-235-1600
E-mail:  mjwty8@mail.umkc.edu


   

Resources

Contact us

Department of Criminal Justice
and Criminology

5215 Rockhill Road
Kansas City, MO
64110-2447
Phone: 816-235-2751
Fax: 816-235-5193
umkccjc@umkc.edu