College of
Arts and Sciences

Faculty Mentors for Undergraduate Students

Faculty mentors are the people in each department who help you explore interests and possibilities within your chosen field and toward your specific career and life goals.

Architecture, Urban Planning, and Design

John Eck

Email: eckj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5245
I work with: Architectural Studies students

Sungyop Kim

Email: kims@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1725
I work with: Urban Planning and Design majors/minors

Jacob Wagner

Email: wagnerjaco@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1725
I work with: Urban Studies majors/minors

Art and Art History

Joseph Hartman

Email: hartmanjr@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1137
I work with: Art History majors/minors

Hyeyoung Shin

Email: shinhyey@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2994
I work with: Studio Art majors/minors; Art and Visual Communication minors (Last names starting with A-K)

Ricky Allman

Email: allmanrw@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2994
I work with: Studio Art majors/minors; Art and Visual Communication minor (Last names starting with L-Z)

Classical Studies

Jeff Rydberg-Cox

Email: rydbergcoxj@umkc.edu
I work with: English: Classical, Medieval, and Early Modern Emphasis majors; Languages and Literatures: Classical Emphasis majors; Classical and Ancient Studies minors

Cynthia Jones

Email: jonescy@umkc.edu
I work with: English: Classical, Medieval, and Early Modern Emphasis majors; Languages and Literatures: Classical Emphasis majors; Classical and Ancient Studies minors

Communication Studies

Judy McCormick

Email: mccormickjk@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1337
I work with: Communication Studies majors/minors

Linda Kurz

Email: kurzl@umkc.edu
Phone Number: (816) 235-5846
I work with: Communication Studies majors/minors

Lyn Elliot

Email: elliotle@umkc.edu
I work with: Film and Media Arts majors; Communication Studies: Film emphasis majors; Film Studies minors

Criminal Justice and Criminology

Ken Novak

Email: novakk@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1599
I work with: Criminal Justice and Criminology majors/minors

Earth and Environmental Sciences

Caroline Davies

Email: daviesc@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-6081
I work with: Environmental Studies majors/minors; Sustainability minors

Jejung "JJ" Lee

Email: leej@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-6081
I work with: Earth and Environmental Science majors

Jimmy Adegoke

Email: adegokej@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1334
I work with: Geography minors

Tina Niemi

Email: niemit@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1334
I work with: Geology minors

Economics

Mat Forstater

Email: forstaterm@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-4649
I work with: Economics majors/minors

English

Hadara Bar-Nadav

Email: barnadavh@umkc.edu
I work with: English majors/minors

Jenni Frangos

Email: frangosj@umkc.edu
I work with: English majors/minors

Jane Greer

Email: greerj@umkc.edu
I work with: English majors/minors

Foreign Languages and Literatures

Gayle Levy

Email: levyg@umkc.edu
I work with: Languages and Literatures: French emphasis majors; French minors

Scott Baker

Email: bakerks@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1311
I work with: Languages and Literatures: German emphasis majors; Languages and Literatures: International Studies emphasis majors; German minors; German Studies minors

Alberto Villamandos

Email: villamandosa@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2324
I work with: Languages and Literatures: Spanish emphasis majors; Spanish minors

History

Rebecca Davis

Email: davisrebe@umkc.edu
I work with: History majors/minors

David Freeman

Email: freemandf@umkc.edu
I work with: History majors/minors

Mathematics and Statistics

Eric Hall

Email: halle@umkc.edu
I work with: freshman and sophomore Mathematics and Statistics majors/minors

Majid Bani

Email: baniyaghoubm@umkc.edu
I work with: junior and senior Mathematics and Statistics majors/minors

Philosophy

Bruce Bubacz

Email: bubaczb@umkc.edu
I work with: Philosophy majors/minors

Physics and Astronomy

Elizabeth "Libby" Stoddard

Email: stoddarde@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-1604
I work with: Physics and Astronomy majors/minors

Political Science

Greg Vonnahme

Email: vonnahmeg@umkc.edu
I work with: Political Science majors/minors

Mona Lyne

Email: lynem@umkc.edu
I work with: International Studies minors

Psychology

Kym Bennett

Undergraduate Director
Email: umkcpuga@umkc.edu
I work with: Psychology majors/minors

Race, Ethnic, and Gender Studies

Brenda Bethman

Email: bethmanb@umkc.edu
I work with: Black Studies minors; Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies minors; Latinx and Latin American Studies minors

Crystal Doss

Email: dosscr@umkc.edu
I work with: Black Studies minors; Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies minors; Latinx and Latin American Studies minors

Sociology

Shannon Jackson

Email: jacksonsh@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2298
I work with: Anthropology minors

Jenny Huberman

Email: hubermanj@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-5424
I work with: Sociology majors/minors

Marc Garcelon

Email: garcelonm@umkc.edu
Phone Number: 816-235-2298
I work with: Sociology majors/minors