Mathematics and Statistics »

Faculty

Majid Bani-Yaghoub

Associate Professor and Department Chair
(816)235-2845
baniyaghoubm@umkc.edu
Personal Webpage

Dr. Majid Bani-Yaghoub (Dr. Bani) received his PhD in applied mathematics from Carleton University, Canada. Later, he joined Texas A&M University, where he...

View Profile

Ari Bavel

Adjunct Instructor

Ari Bavel received his Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics from the University of Kansas and his Master of Arts in Collaborative Teaching and Learning from Graceland...

View Profile

An-Lin Cheng

Associate Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
816-235-5242
chenga@umkc.edu
Personal Website

Dr. Cheng is an Associate Professor and Director of Research and Statistical Consult Service in the Department of Biomedical and Health Informatics, UMKC School...

View Profile

Richard Delaware

Teaching Professor
(816) 235-2850
Personal webpage

Dr. Richard Delaware joined UMKC in 1984. For 19 years until 2003 he was Mathematics Coordinator, and the last five of those years Associate Director, of the...

View Profile

James Foran

Professor Emeritus
ForanJ@umkc.edu

Ph.D. 1973, Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
M.S. 1968, Mathematics, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
B.A. 1965, Mathematics, Marquette...

View Profile

Eric Hall

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor
(816)235-5852
halle@umkc.edu

Dr. Hall joined UMKC in 2003 after working as a Visiting Assistant Professor at Purdue University for three years. Dr. Hall is the department Chair and undergraduate...

View Profile

Kristin Kathman

Lecturer and College Algebra Coordinator
(816)235-5719
kathmank@umkc.edu

Kris Kathman is a full time lecturer in the Mathematics Department.  She recently returned to the department as a full time faculty member in 2017.  Kris graduated...

View Profile

Malinee Konboon

Adjunct Professor
konboonm-secure@umkc.edu

B.A., Business and Human Relations, MidAmerica Nazarene University (1995)
M.A., History of Art, Baker University (1996)
B.S., Mathematics and Statistics,...

View Profile

Xianping Li

Assistant Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
(816)235-2657
Xianping.Li@asu.edu

Dr. Xianping Li joined the University of Missouri-Kansas City as an Assistant Professor in 2013, following a Visiting Assistant Professorship at the University...

View Profile

Nadeesha Mawella

Assistant Teaching Professor
(816)235-2853
mawellan@umkc.edu

Dr. Nadeesha Mawella recently joined UMKC in Fall 2018, after receiving her Ph.D in Statistics from Kansas State University. Her research is focused on misspecifications...

View Profile

Kamel Rekab

Professor and Stat Graduate Advisor
(816)235-5746
rekabk@umkc.edu
Personal Website

Dr. Kamel Rekab joined UMKC as a full Professor in Statistics in 2005, after working at Florida Tech for 17 years. He served as the department Chair from 2005...

View Profile

Noah Rhee

Professor and I.Ph.D coordinator
rheen@umkc.edu

Professor Noah Rhee joined UMKC in 1987. He received his PhD in Mathematics from Michigan State University. Since the Summer of 2008 he has been the Interdisciplinary...

View Profile

Michael Round

Adjunct Instructor and Coordinator of Digital Program
(816) 235-5966
roundm@umkc.edu

B.S., Mathematics, South Dakota State University (1985)
M.S., Mathematics, University of Missouri – Kansas City (2000)

Professor Round joined UMKC...

View Profile

Robert Schmitt

Adjunct Instructor
rds5hd@umkc.edu

 

M.S., Mathematics, University of Missouri, Kansas City (2013)
B.A., Mathematics, University of Kansas (2011)
B.A., Philosophy, University...

View Profile

Liana Sega

Professor and Math Graduate Advisor
(816)235-6254
segal@umkc.edu
Personal webpage

Dr. Liana Sega (pronounced `Shega’) came to UMKC in 2005, after completing postdoctoral positions at the Mathematical Sciences Research Insitute (MSRI) in Berkeley...

View Profile

Said Shehab

Assistant Teaching Professor
shehabs@umkc.edu

Dr. Said Shehab joined UMKC in August 2018. He completed his PH.D. in Pure Mathematics under a Protocol between Poitiers University, France and Ain Shams university,...

View Profile

Steve Simon

Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
816-235-6617
simons@umkc.edu

Research Focus
Most of my research is characterized as meta-research–research about the research process. One example is monitoring accrual patterns in...

View Profile

David Spade

Assistant Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
spade@uwm.edu

Research Interests: Markov chain Monte Carlo methods, statistical genetics, phylogenetics, and genomics, and mapping of avian influenza virus dynamics. Prof....

View Profile

Vincent Staggs

Associate Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
(816) 302-0165
vstaggs@cmh.edu

Dr. Staggs is a research faculty member in the Dept. of Biostatistics & Epidemiology, Health Services and Outcomes Research at Children’s Mercy Kansas City....

View Profile

Naveen Vaidya

Associate Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
nvaidya@sdsu.edu
Google Citations

My current research interests include applied mathematics, with specific areas of interest in mathematical biology (viral dynamics and immune systems, epidemiology,...

View Profile

Stephanie Van Rhein

Lecturer and Online Instructor
(267)225-2482

Stephanie Van Rhein joined UMKC in 2011.  She received her undergraduate degree in applied mathematics from University of Missouri Science and Technology (Missouri...

View Profile

Bruce Wenner

Adjunct Professor Emeritus
wennerb@umkc.edu

Ph.D. 1964, Mathematics, Duke University
B.A. 1960, Mathematics, College of Wooster, Illinois

Full-time: 1968 – Dec. 2002
Chair: 1992...

View Profile

Sangbeak Ye

Assistant Professor (Courtesy Appointment)
816-235-1700
yesa@umkc.edu

Dr. Sangbeak (Sam) Ye is an Assistant Professor in the Department of General Nursing. He is a member of  Doctoral faculty for graduate students in Mathematics...

View Profile

Nasir Zarzour

Visiting Assistant Professor
(816) 235-5966
nzrg7@umkc.edu

Nasir Zarzour Received his Master’s Degree in applied mathematics from UMKC in 2005. Later in 2014 he pursued his PhD in Statistics, He was a GTA at UMKC from...

View Profile

Yong Zeng

Professor
(816)235-5850
zengy@umkc.edu

Dr. Yong Zeng joined UMKC in 1999, after receiving his Ph.D. degree in Statistics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. His research interests include Mathematical...

View Profile