Foreign Languages and Literatures

Julia Amigo

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 1
amigom@umkc.edu


View Profile

Scott Baker

Associate Professor, German Advisor and Chair

Luis Belaustegui

Lecturer and Director of the Language Resource Center
816-235-5888
luisb@umkc.edu

In addition to his direction of the Language Resource Center, Luis Beláustegui founded and coordinates an Early College Program with Foreign Language Academy...

View Profile

Maria Belaustegui

Adjunct Instructor - Italian and Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 2
belausteguim@umkc.edu


View Profile

Brenda Bethman

Affiliated Faculty and Director of Women's Center

Xanath Caraza-de-Holland

Lecturer
816-235-5855
carazax@umkc.edu

Xánatha Caraza is a traveler, educator, poet and short story writer.  She has taught at UMKC since 2010, specializing in Spanish grammar and literature classes

Publications

Books:
View Profile

Adela Collins

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-1415, ext. 1
collinsa@umkc.edu


View Profile

Galo Delgado

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2803, ext. 2
gfdelgado@umkc.edu


View Profile

Diaz Graciela

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 3
diazg@umkc.edu


View Profile

Matthew Edwards

Assistant Professor
816-235-2803 ext. 5
edwardsmatt@umkc.edu

Dr. Edwards has taught at UMKC since 2011, specializing in  literary representations of hyper-masculinity in the context of Cuba’s Special Period and the...

View Profile

Eugenio González

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 4
gonzalezeug@umkc.edu

Dr. González is originally from Spain.   He has dedicated his life to teaching, in secondary education (in Central America and Spain) and for the last eighteen...

View Profile

Kerstin Haack

Adjunct Instructor - German
816-235-1415 ext. 2
haackk@umkc.edu


View Profile

Lorena Hidalgo-Johnson

Lecturer and Coordinator
816-235-5855
hidalgojohnsonl@umkc.edu

Lorena Hidalgo Johnson has taught at UMKC as a full time lecturer of Spanish since 2011.  She is the coordinator for Spanish 120 classes and has served as an...

View Profile

Louis Imperiale

Professor and Spanish Graduate Advisor
816-235-2822

Professor Imperiale has been teaching at UMKC since 1991. He specializes in Spanish Golden Age literature, European Renaissance and contemporary literature, linguistics...

View Profile

Tanya Kelley

Adjunct Instructor - German
816-235-1415 ext. 6
kelleyt@umkc.edu

Ms. Kelley has taught German and Spanish from the beginning to the advanced levels at the University of Missouri Kansas City and Rockhurst University.   Although...

View Profile

Nacer Khelouz

Associate Professor and French Graduate Advisor
816-235-5996
khelouznacer@umkc.edu

Dr. Nacer Khelouz is Associate Professor of French and has taught at UMKC since 2007.  He specializes in Maghrebian, Sub-Saharan & Caribbean literatures...

View Profile

Kathy Krause

Professor, French Section Head, and Medieval and Early Modern Studies Program Director
816-235-2803 ext 9
krausek@umkc.edu

Professor Krause has taught at UMKC since 1995. Her research explores a series of interconnected issues related to women’s roles and representation in the French...

View Profile

Carmen Lafalce

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 5
lafalcec@umkc.edu


View Profile

Cherie Leimkuehler

Adjunct Instructor - French
leimkuehlerc@umkc.edu

Prof. Leimkuehler is a native of Lexington, Missouri. Her family is of French/Italian origin, including grandparents from Brittany, France and Brusnengo, Italy....

View Profile

Gayle Levy

Associate Professor and Honors College Director
816-235-2820
levyg@umkc.edu

Prof. Levy has taught at UMKC since 1996, specializing in 19th and 20th-century French literature and culture. Most recently her research and teaching has revolved...

View Profile

Venne Londré

Adjunct Instructor - French
816-235-1415, ext. 5
londrev@umkc.edu


View Profile

Stephanie Marquez

Lecturer and Coordinator
816-235-5856
marquezs@umkc.edu

Stephanie Marquez has taught at UMKC since 2011 as a full-time Spanish lecturer.  She is the coordinator of Spanish 211 courses.  Ms. Marquez has also served...

View Profile

Scott McClanahan

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-1415, ext. 7
mcclanahansc@umkc.edu

Mr. McClanahan has taught Spanish at UMKC since 2007. He has also taught Spanish classes at Kansas City Kansas Community College since 2013.  Mr. McClanahan...

View Profile

Kelley Melvin

Lecturer and Coordinator
816-235-5856
melvinkel@umkc.edu

Kelley Melvin is the coordinator for Spanish 110 classes. She has taught at UMKC since 2011.  Kelley specializes in teaching online and face-to-face Spanish...

View Profile

Lindsy Myers

Associate Teaching Professor and Coordinator
816-235-2803 ext. 6
myersll@umkc.edu

Prof. Myers has taught at UMKC since 2009.  She specializes in French linguistics and foreign language pedagogy. In addition to teaching advanced French and...

View Profile

Larson Powell

Professor
816-235-2803 ext. 7
powelllar@umkc.edu

Prof. Powell taught at Texas A&M University, U Mass Amherst, and Fordham University before coming to UMKC in 2007. He specializes in 20th-century literature...

View Profile

Alice Reckley Vallejos

Associate Professor and Teacher Education Advisor
816-235-2803, ext 8
reckleya@umkc.edu

Prof. Reckley has taught at UMKC since 1987.  She teaches courses on Latin American literature and culture, Spanish language, and teacher education.

Publication

She...

View Profile

Ayman Refaat

Reckley Vallejos
816-235-1415 ext. 3
refaata@umkc.edu


View Profile

Katharina Schlottoff

Adjunct Instructor - German
816-235-2803 ext. 4
schlottoffk@umkc.edu


View Profile

Tammy Shelton

Administrative Assistant
816-235-1311
sheltonta@umkc.edu

As an Administrative Assistant, Tammy Shelton supports the financial and human resources operations of the Foreign Languages and Literatures Department.   She...

View Profile

Adriana Sommerville

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish
816-235-2830, ext. 6
sommervillear@umkc.edu


View Profile

Arden Thornburg

Adjunct Instructor - Spanish

Aracely Tung

Graduate Instructor - Spanish

Guadalupe Vargas

Adjunct Instructor
816-235-2830, ext 7
vargasg@umkc.edu


View Profile

Alberto Villamandos

Associate Professor, Spanish Undergraduate Advisor
816-235-2324
villamandosa@umkc.edu

Born in San Sebastian, a beautiful city in Northern Spain, Dr. Villamandos earned a B.A. in Spanish Philology at the Universidad de Navarra (Pamplona) and an...

View Profile