Geosciences

Jimmy Adegoke

Professor
(816) 235-2978
adegokej@umkc.edu

Prof. Adegoke investigates the role of the land surface as a driver of weather and climate using satellite remote sensing, climate diagnostic tools and regional...

View Profile

Raymond Coveney

Professor Emeritus
(816) 686-5535
coveneyr@umkc.edu

Prof. Coveney was born in Massachusetts. After a stint in the US Navy where he was a Lt. (j.g.) he investigated numerous mining camps as an exploration geologist....

View Profile

Caroline Davies, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Steven Driever, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
(816) 235-1334
drievers@umkc.edu

Emeritus Professor Driever came to UMKC in 1977 and retired in 2015.  He is a former Chair of the Geosciences Department as well as a former Director of the...

View Profile

John Fleeger

Adjunct Professor
(816) 235-1334
fleegerj@umkc.edu

Before coming to UMKC in 2010, Dr. Fleeger served as Professor of Biological Sciences at Louisiana State University where he is currently Emeritus Professor....

View Profile

Richard Gentile

Professor Emeritus
(816) 235-2974
gentiler@umkc.edu

Dr. Gentile, “The rock and fossil doc” was born, raised and educated in Missouri. He began teaching geology courses at UMKC in 1966, retiring in 1999 but...

View Profile

Alison Graettinger

Assistant Professor

Syed Hasan

Professor Emeritus
(816) 235-1334
hasans@umkc.edu

Dr. Hasan came to the Unites States in 1973 from India after obtaining his MS degree in Applied Geology and working for the Geological Survey of India for eight...

View Profile

Wei "Wayne" Ji

Chair and Director of GIS Certificate Programs
(816) 235-5150 or (816) 235-6180
jiwei@umkc.edu

Professor Ji received a Ph.D. degree, specializing in natural resource management, remote sensing, and GIS, from the University of Connecticut. In 1990s he conducted...

View Profile

Jejung Lee

Associate Professor
(816) 235-6495
leej@umkc.edu


View Profile

Megan Medley

Office Support Assistant IV
(816) 235-1334
medleymj@umkc.edu

Megan Medley provides management, administrative, and business support to the Geosciences Department. She is a self-motivated professional with excellent dispute...

View Profile

James Murowchick

Professor
(816) 235-2979
murowchickj@umkc.edu

The son of an industrial mineralogist, Professor Murowchick joined UMKC in 1988.  He helped develop and direct UMKC’s SEARCH undergraduate research program,...

View Profile

Tina Niemi

Professor

Fengpeng Sun

Assistant Professor
(816) 235-2973
sunf@umkc.edu
Fengpeng Sun

Dr. Fengpeng Sun is a climate scientist with particular expertise in investigating climate variability and climate change. Dr. Sun develops high-resolution regional...

View Profile