Physics and Astronomy

Mark Brodwin

Norman Royall Distinguished Professor, Associate Professor, Co-Graduate Academic Advisor
816-235-2508
brodwinm@umkc.edu

Prof. Brodwin joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2011. His research work involves the observational discovery and study of massive, rare galaxy...

View Profile

Anthony Caruso

Curators' Professor, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research
816-235-2505
carusoan@umkc.edu

Prof. Tony Caruso joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2007. The Caruso group torques, probes, pushes, smells, and pokes at the electronic structure...

View Profile

Wai-Yim Ching

Curators' Professor
816-235-2503
chingw@umkc.edu

Prof. Wai-Yim Ching joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1978. Prof. Ching’s research area is theoretical condensed matter physics and...

View Profile

Gloria Frazier

Administrative Assistant
816-235-1604
frazierg@umkc.edu

Gloria Frazier joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2018.



View Profile

Daphne Hunter

UMKC College of Arts and Sciences
816-235-1604
hunterd@umkc.edu

Daphne Hunter joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1996.



View Profile

Fred Leibsle

Associate Professor, Department Chair
(816) 235-2502
leibslef@umkc.edu

Prof. Fred Leibsle joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1996. His research is in a subspecialty of condensed matter physics called surface science...

View Profile

Daniel McIntosh

Associate Professor, Director, A Bridge to the Stars Pipeline Program
, Provost Fellow (2018-2019)
, Norman Royall Distinguished Professor (2017-2019)
, UM President’s Award for Innovative Teaching (2016)
816-235-5324
mcintoshdh@umkc.edu
A Bridge to the Stars


Prof. McIntosh joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2008. His research activities and interests center around being a galaxy demographer. Prof....

View Profile

Michelle Paquette

Research Associate Professor
816-235-1338
paquettem@umkc.edu

Prof. Paquette joined the faculty of the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2012. Her primary research area is the basic and applied investigation of...

View Profile

Robert Riggs

Assistant Teaching Professor, Outreach Coordinator
813-235-2506
riggsr@umkc.edu

Prof. Bob Riggs joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2006. His primary area of research interest is the curricular treatment of math and science...

View Profile

Paul Rulis

Associate Professor, Co-Graduate Academic Advisor
816-235-5945
rulisp@umkc.edu

Prof. Rulis joined the UMKC faculty of the Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2011. He leads the Computational Physics Group and is Co-leader of the Electronic...

View Profile

Steven Siegel

Sr. Research Design Engineer

Elizabeth Stoddard

Associate Professor, Graduate TA Supervisor
816-235-2511
stoddarde@umkc.edu

Prof. Libby Stoddard joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 2001. Her areas of research interest include physics education, teaching undergraduate...

View Profile

Da-Ming Zhu

Professor
816-235-5326
zhud@umkc.edu

Prof. Da-Ming Zhu joined the UMKC Department of Physics and Astronomy in 1991. One of his areas of research is the study of the thermodynamic properties of glassy...

View Profile